ARM AGI CPU: Specs and SKUs(sbcwiki.com)
75 points by HeyMeco 3 hours ago | 21 comments
- HeyMeco 2 hours agoIt really is a choice for Arm to use their 2023 based mobile X4 cores instead of their current C1 Ultras for this. Hopefully they step up quickly
- heuristo 2 hours agoThis seems bad, doesn’t it? I already know that there has been friction between arm and their customers over higher licensing fees since the IPO just trying to put this in context.[-]
- HeyMeco 2 hours agoI wonder what the people at Ampere are thinking right now[-]
- ibgeek 11 minutes agoAgreed. The ARM AGI CPU supports a newer version of the vectorized instructions and has matrix math extensions that the AmpereOne M doesn’t. Also has almost twice the memory bandwidth. One paper at least, the AGI CPU seems like a better choice for AI workloads. Ampere is really pushing the AI workload use cases for the AmpereOne M, so this really makes their lives a lot harder.
- josemanuel 1 hour agoWasn’t Ampere just bought by Softbank?[-]
- ibgeek 10 minutes agoYes, but they function as sister companies right now rather than one company.
- nateb2022 2 hours ago[dupe] https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=47506251 (18 minutes older, 6 comments)[-]
- HeyMeco 2 hours agoThis is my condensed version for the SBCwiki documentation focused on the key facts without all the unnecessary marketing around it[-]
- swiftcoder 2 hours agoThis is substantially more useful than the marketing fluff in the press release. Probably would have made sense to post this in that thread though
- lucasay 2 hours agoNot sure how to feel about this. Does this mean ARM is slowly moving from just licensing IP to actually competing with companies building on top of it?
- grahammccain 2 hours agoYeah seems like competing with your customers is a bad idea.[-]
- rbanffy 31 minutes agoI think the only ARM licensee going for the hyperscaler CPU market is Ampere. Amazon and Microsoft make CPUs for themselves and Nvidia’s are aimed exclusively at AI workloads driving their GPUs.
- soumyaskartha 2 hours agoARM naming a chip AGI is either the most confident product launch in history or the best marketing we have seen in years. Probably both.[-]
- fyrn_ 2 hours agoOr for certain people, it makes them cringe a little whenever they see it..
- greggsy 11 minutes agoIt’s so deliberately misleading.
I can only imagine that their boardroom minutes included heated exchanges between their legal and marketing teams.
- rbanffy 30 minutes agoThey certainly are optimistic
- stared 2 hours agoWaiting for ARM-AGI-2[-]
- HeyMeco 2 hours agoThey actually said it’s coming in 2027 and ARM-AGI-3 is marked as future https://xcancel.com/mecoscorner/status/2036510613350785418
- trebligdivad 2 hours agoI wonder if it's a joke like Arm-Generative-Intelligence or something like that.